40 Years and Having Fun!

An arbitrary to-do list for my 40th year.

No junk food – week 1 January 7, 2013

Filed under: Diet — Priscilla Crawford @ 12:15 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Warning, you may disagree with my definition of junk food. My current list of unacceptable items and fully acknowledged inconsistent exceptions:
Unacceptable
French Fries, onion rings, anything breaded and deep fried
Potato chips, corn chips, including baked and “whole” grain (really, face it, they are all a refined carb overload)
Candy
Store bought cookies

Exceptions
chocolate – expensive, fancy dark in small quantities – dark chocolate is a health food, right? See – scientific evidence!
homemade cookies (in moderation) – how can I turn my back on lovingly handmade cookies made with real food like butter and pecans?
dessert from La Baguette – to call these cakes, pastries, and mousses junk food is a travesty (besides they are a infrequent indulgence. And by infrequent I mean no more than once a week)
ice cream – it is made from milk which means protein and calcium, practically making it a wholesome food. I don’t normally eat ice cream, but I love it. So, I add it to my list of exceptions in case the rare occasion arises

Temptations this week
– M&Ms on admin assistants’ desks – Why do they do this? Some days I find myself obsessing about that bowl of cheap chocolate all day. After the third trip down the hall to “ask a question” about my travel claim or use of the corporate credit card, I wonder if they roll their eyes at my excuses as I grab yet another handful of candy. Going cold turkey like this is probably the best way to kick the habit.
– Cookies at recent trail run – I love Nutter Butters and these are an tasty form of portable energy while running, but I made my own energy bars!

 

4 Responses to “No junk food – week 1”

  1. Regina Says:

    Found your reply that led me to your website from nomeatathlete. I like you feel the need to try different things.. I am fast approaching my 49th birthday. Plus like you I made my own energy bars from nomeatathlete! I like the site, but I have yet to run in quite a number of years, and my latest exercise activity is riding my “zike”!

    • Priscilla Crawford Says:

      I loved my energy bars. My daughter even said “you would never know they had beans in them!” My next variation will be pumpkin-pecan. Hope you have fun trying me things this year!

  2. *ahem* dessert from La Baguette are probably a little bit junk food … Maybe? And icecream? Erm …
    πŸ˜›

    • Priscilla Crawford Says:

      Ok, I did warn you that you may disagree with my junk food definition. But what I am really trying to do with “no junk food” is focus on quality food and “real food” made with food ingredients, not complicated additives. La baguette desserts are a treat with a high fat and sugar content, but I would have one high quality dessert that is made from real food that was made in a bakery just a few blocks from my house Where as if I ate a packaged chocolate chip cookie it would be full of ingredients that are not recognizable as food, made in a factory, and I would not be satisfied with one serving.


Leave a Reply

